Frequently Asked Questions on TOGAF

What is Enterprise Architecture?

Enterprise Architecture is a method of envisioning (a) an organization as it exists in its present state, (b) that same organization as it would be in a future (better) state, and (c) a roadmap to enable the organization to progress from current (as-is) state to future (to-be) state.  Enterprise Architecture’s greatest value lies in its ability to help the organization align its business framework with the data/information needed to conduct business, and the technology needed to process the data/information.  This results in lowered systems costs, reduced redundancy, and enhanced systems efficiency and effectiveness

What are the available TOGAF certification courses ?


  • TOGAF 9 Foundation (Part 1) – provides validation that the candidate has gained knowledge of the terminology and basic concepts of TOGAF 9 and understands the core principles of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF
  • TOGAF 9 Certified (Part 2) – provides validation that in addition to knowledge and comprehension, the candidate is able to analyse and apply knowledge of TOGAF

What is the pass score for the exam ?

  • TOGAF 9 Foundation (Part 1) – Pass mark 55% (22 or more points out of a maximum of 40)
  • TOGAF 9 Certified (Part 2) – Pass mark 60% (24 or more points out of a maximum of 40)
  • TOGAF 9 Combined (Part 1&2) – Pass marks as per the TOGAF 9 Part 1 and 2 examinations described above. Each section must be passed in order to obtain an overall pass mark. If you fail a section then no certification is awarded, however you only need retake the Examination(s) corresponding to the failed section(s).

Why do I need enterprise architecture ?

A more efficient IT operation:

  • Lower software development, support, and maintenance costs
  • Increased portability of applications
  • Improved interoperability and easier system and network management
  • Improved ability to address critical enterprise-wide issues like security
  • Easier upgrade and exchange of system components

Better return on existing investment, reduced risk for future investment:

  • Reduced complexity in IT infrastructure
  • Maximum return on investment in existing IT infrastructure
  • The flexibility to make, buy, or out-source IT solutions
  • Reduced risk overall in new investment, and the costs of IT ownership

Faster, simpler, and cheaper procurement:

  • Buying decisions are simpler, because the information governing procurement is readily available in a coherent plan.
  • The procurement process is faster – maximizing procurement speed and flexibility without sacrificing architectural coherence.

What does the TOGAF exams cover ?

The topic areas are weighted so that there are more questions in key areas of the syllabus, for example in the TOGAF 9 Part 1 examination the four topic areas: ADM Phases, ADM guidelines and techniques, Enterprise Continuum and Tools, and Architecture Governance comprise 60% of the questions.

  • TOGAF 9 Foundation (Part 1) – The eleven topic areas covered by the examination together with the number of questions per area in the examination follows:
    • Basic Concepts (3 questions)
    • Core Concepts (3 questions)
    • Introduction to the ADM (3 questions)
    • The Enterprise Continuum and Tools (4 questions)
    • ADM Phases (9 questions)
    • ADM Guidelines and Techniques (6 questions)
    • Architecture Governance (4 questions)
    • Architecture Views, Viewpoints and Stakeholders (2 questions)
    • Building Blocks (2 questions)
    • ADM Deliverables (2 questions)
    • TOGAF Reference Models (2 questions)
  • TOGAF 9 Certified (Part 2)- The syllabus for the examination is all the learning outcomes. The exam samples the learning outcomes with eight scenarios and eight questions. The eight questions are drawn from the following topic areas:
    • ADM Phases: Project Establishment (phases Preliminary, A, Requirements Management)
    • ADM Phases: Architecture Definition (phases B,C,D)
    • ADM Phases: Transition Planning (phases E and F)
    • ADM Phases: Governance (phases G and H)
    • Adapting the ADM
    • Architecture Content Framework
    • TOGAF Reference Models
    • Architecture Capability Framework

What kind of architecture does TOGAF deal with?

There are four types of architecture that are commonly accepted as subsets of overall enterprise architecture, all of which TOGAF is designed to support:

1.A Business (or Business Process) Architecture – this defines the business strategy, governance, organization,                and key business processes.

2.A Data Architecture – this describes the structure of an organization’s logical and physical data assets and data            management resources.

3.An Applications Architecture – this kind of architecture provides a blueprint for the individual application                     systems to be deployed, their interactions, and their relationships to the core business processes of the                           organization.

4.A Technology Architecture – this describes the logical software and hardware capabilities that are required to                support the deployment of business, data, and application services. This includes IT infrastructure,                                  middleware, networks, communications, processing, standards, etc.

Who would benefit from using TOGAF?

Any organization undertaking, or planning to undertake, the design and implementation of enterprise architecture for the support of mission-critical business applications, using open systems building blocks.

Customers who design and implement enterprise architectures using TOGAF are ensured of a design and a procurement specification that will greatly facilitate open systems implementation, and will enable the benefits of open systems to accrue to their organizations with reduced risk.

What is Enterprise Architecture? Enterprise Architecture is a method of envisioning (a) an organization as it exists in its present state, (b) that same organization as it would be in ...
0 Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.